balenciagamos

florence in words

DSC02891

I’ve been to Florence several times now – visiting friends, attending events, en route somewhere else – so while I of course visit some of the city’s most beautiful monuments (and can’t help myself from taking the same pictures I have dozens of already), what I really love to notice are the little things. For example on this latest visit, it seemed to me that locals use “Salve” much more than “Ciao” to say “Hello” (or is it just me?)

Here are some of the words I picked up across the city: from Dante quotes plastered near his birthplace (above) to the simple “out to lunch” note and charming hand-painted sign for a Boy Scout troop; famous names in fashion, video games, and political humor I’m happy to finally “get.”

DSC02887 DSC02894 DSC02899DSC03009 DSC02923DSC03012

This entry was published on May 19, 2013 at 10:00 pm. It’s filed under Italy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “florence in words

  1. I love that MISSING sign for Blinky. Cool post!

Leave a Reply

