balenciagamos

scene of saint jean de luz

DSC02100_2

Saint Jean de Luz is a tiny sleepy beach village on the French Côte Basque, along the way between San Sebastian and Biarritz. The town consists of a working harbor, a few calm pretty beaches, and several streets around the central square lined with bistros and seafood restaurants. Here a lush blooming tree twists and incorporates itself nicely into an old building.

 

 

check out my other post on Saint Jean de Luz here

This entry was published on January 6, 2013 at 12:57 am. It’s filed under France and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “scene of saint jean de luz

  1. Cute and quaint! I remember hearing the name of this town from a gorgeous coffee table book a friend of mine had on the French Basque country.What other towns do you know / recommend in this area?

    • It’s a really nice and beautiful area to explore! In France I went also to Biarritz and Bayonne which are only a little bit further. And on the Spanish side my absolute favorites were Hondarribia and Getaria, but there are also Irun, Zumaia and Zarautz. I was staying in San Sebastian, and the bigger cities of Bilbao and Pamplona are also not very far away for a day trip!
      Have you been to this area or are you planning to go? I can’t recommend it enough! 🙂

      • I’ve been to Spanish Basque country three times and love it! I’d like to explore some of the French side, hopefully when the weather is warmer 🙂

  2. i really really liked this town, I wrote abut my adventure there this summer! http://girlinflorence.com/2012/09/09/why-you-should-visit-the-basque-country-coast-part-three/. I also really like Biarritz and further in the countryside sare & ainhoa!

    • Great post! I was only in Saint Jean de Luz for a short time, to have lunch and walk around the town and beach basically, but I really fell in love with the whole area and could see going back there for summer vacations in the future. So many great towns to get to know in such a peaceful area!

  3. Hello! Thanks so much for visiting my blog! That’s so exciting that you studied in Barcelona; my sister just moved there for her university studies also and we both love this city. Where are you based now?

    Milsters

    (http://www.littlepiecesoflight.com/)

  4. PS Love your blog so much – just added you to my blog roll!

    • Thank you so much! That is so nice 🙂 I adore Barcelona, I think it’s one of the best cities for studying abroad because it’s so beautiful and also so much fun. Right now I live in Frankfurt, Germany!

Leave a Reply

